List of Contents
A guide to travel, sightseeing and services - what to do, where to stay and a little history of Tasmanian cities and towns.
Includes list of contents, Tasmanian Freedom Camping Locations Series and a free, downloadable map of Tasmania
The Towns and Regions
Looks at the towns, camping, accommodation, eating out, sightseeing, history, toilets & dump points, information centres, doctors, vets, real e
Download Free Map
This (external) link will give you access to free maps of Tasmania, Hobart City Centre, Launceston City Centre, Burnie and Devonport to print or store on your device.
For Kids and their Adults
A range of free and low cost things to make and do, for kids and their adults, when driving or confined to camp.
Free and Cheap
you can choose from camp-grounds provided by councils, commercial operators or formal, and informal free camp sites.
Fossicking in Tasmania
Many of the locations this guide will be visiting offer the chance to do a little fosicking for such things as gold, sapphires, topaz, jasper, turquoise, agate and a range of other tumbling material for lapidarists.
Tiger Track Stamps
A Quirky, Free/Low-Cost Way for you to keep track of your amazing tasmanian adventures, as you hunt down over 70 Tiger Track Stamps and with luck - or skill maybe - find the elusive Tasmanian Tiger (Thylacine) - the most valuable stamp of all.
Situated 21 km south of Launceston and 187 km north of Hobart, Longford is a 15 minute drive from Launceston Airport.
The town has a population of 3,757 (2011 census) and is predominantly agricultural - noted for wool, dairy produce and stock breeding.
Pick up a free guide, The Path of History, at the local Visitor Centre at JJ's Bakery, or at council office in Smith Street and take a self-guided walking tour of the town, taking in much of its rich history.
The guide lists twenty local heritage sites for you to explore, along with a brief history of each.
Tourist Information Centre
At JJ's Bakery, 52 Wellington Street, Longford - ph (03) 6397 7303
Out And About In Longford
This (external) link will take you to accommodation, attractions, dining, events, shopping and tours in Longford.
Police, ambulance and fire dial 000
Lyttleton Street, Longford - Open 24 hours
Longford Medical Centre, Cnr Smith & George Sts, Longford - ph.(03) 6391 1626
31 George Street, Longford - non-emergency ph. 131 444
Longford Veterinary Practice
24 Marlborough St, Longford - ph (03) 6391 1737
RV Effluent Dump Point
Riverside Caravan Park, 2a Archer Street Longford - for Registered Guests Only.
Real Estate For Sale
This (external) link will give you updated details of property for sale in and around Longford.
The weather forecast (external) link includes rain, sun, wind, moon and UV as well as radar, satellite and synoptic charts.
To 'On This Page
A little history
As farmers were moved from Norfolk Island they began to settle in Tasmania in 1807.
Governor Macquarie granted land rights to the settlers, who originally called the area Norfolk Plains.
Originally called Latour, the town grew up around the Longford Hotel which was built in 1827 by Newman Williatt and in 1833 the town was renamed Longford.
Settlers used free convict labour to build their fine houses and estates.
The Archer family
The Archer family was prominent among the early settlers, building a number of grand houses and estates in the area.
Thomas Archer emigrated from England to Australia in 1811 and retired from government service in 1821 to develop his 2,000 acre (809 ha) estate.
By 1825 he held 6,000 acres (2428 ha) in the area and his success persuaded his brother Joseph, then his brothers Willam and Edward and their father, to join him.
Together they farmed and developed the land and built a number of homesteads, claimed to be among the finest in northern Tasmania:.
They were Woolmers Estate, Brickendon Estate (both on the Australian National Heritage List), Panshanger, Northbury, Fairfield, Cheshunt, Woodside, Palmerston and Saundridge.
Six generations of Archers have lived in Woolmers, from 1817 to 1994, though it is now owned by the Woolmers Foundation Inc. and is open to the public.
As well as being a beautiful historic town, from 1953 to 1968 Longford has hosted two Australian Grand Prix, several Tasman Cup races and touring car and motorcycle championships were organised on the 4.5 miles (7.2 km) Longford Circuit.
Jack Brabham and Stirling Moss raced this circuit during that period and was the first F1 driver to use a rear-engine car.
Jack Brabham at Longford
A description of Longford c 1852
drawn from The History of Tasmania - Volume II (of 2) by John West.
Longford [is] a town prettily situated at the junction of the rivers Lake and South Esk, in the parish of Longford and county of Westmoreland, 115 miles (185 km) from Hobart, and 14 (22.5 km) from Launceston.
The population of the town and district is 3,829, and the number of houses 595, half of which are of stone or brick.
It has a resident police magistrate, (who is also deputy chairman of quarter sessions and the court of requests,) a postmaster, and other officers.
It contains a neat episcopal church, built in the Gothic style, several schools, a Wesleyan chapel, a court house and gaol, several large inns, a brewery, a mill, and many substantial buildings.
Longford is also an electoral district, for which Joseph Archer, Esq., is the first member.
To 'On This Page'
Christ Church (1839)
Situated right in the centre of town, Christ Church is sandstone, with square tower, lancet windows and buttresses, in the Old Colonial Gothic Picturesque style.
Places of worship had been established very early in the century at Woolmers and elsewhere but the first actually in the township was in about 1826 and it was situated immediately behind the present beautiful building.
In 1829 a new church was built on the site of the present church, however, its foundations were faulty and the present building was erected in 1839.
The bell and clock of the present church were transferred from the earlier churches, and carry an inscription suggesting that they were donated in 1824 by King George IV.
Queen’s Arms Hotel (1835)
69 Wellington Street, Longford
A double story brick and stuccoed building in the Old Colonial Georgian style, was run by James Johnstone in 1840 and a little later by Samuel Cox.
This may have started as the King’s Arms which was operating in 1835, with a name change some time after Victoria became Queen in 1837.
The King’s Arms, run by Mrs Marriot in 1835, was offered for sale in 1838.
Blenheim Hotel (1846)
16 Marlborough Street, Longford
A two store Georgian brick and stuccoed building, built by William Dodery, who had previously owned the Mitre on the site of the original Brown’s Store.
The Railway came through Longford in 1871 and the landlord at the time cornered the railway market by having a vehicle meet every train and offer free transport to his inn, even though it was further away than most other inns.
Tattersalls Hotel (now Longford Library)
A two store red brick corner building with neoclassic moulded surrounds to doorways.
The building was originally the Market Square Inn and later Tattersalls Hotel, run by Edward Hicks.
Racecourse Hotel (1840s)
114 Marlborough Street, Longford
This two story brick Georgian inn was originally intended to be the Longford Railway Station when the line was planned to run through Longford and Cressy, and then northwards.
Throughout its history the building has served as a public house and an old people’s home.
During its days as a public house, a rather gruesome murder took place in the bar.
A woman was murdered and butchered after stealing and swallowing two gold sovereigns belonging to some farm hands.
The men were subsequently hanged at Gibbet Hill, Perth.
Longford Town Hall (1880)
Wellington St, Longford
Elizabeth Noake built the assembly rooms adjacent to the Queens Arms Hotel, which she also owned, prior to her death in 1885.
The assembly rooms were built to take the place of the Tivoli Theatre that had been destroyed by fire.
Brickendon Historic Farm
236 Wellington Street, Longford
One of Tasmania’s World Heritage Convict Sites, Brickendon Historic Farm and Convict Village was built by William Archer in 1824 - the village is still owned by his descendants.
The complex affords a rare chance to see a Georgian homestead, convict-built Gothic chapel, Dutch barns, chicken house, blacksmith shop and tool shed and stay in historic farm cottages.
There is also a four hectare (10 acre) historic garden for you to explore.
- Woolmers Estate
658 Woolmers Lane, Longford
One of the highlights of any visit to Longford should be a visit to the remarkable Woolmers Estate, because it offers a unique opportunity to see how the wealthy landowners lived.
To 'On This Page'
Christ Church and the Pioneer Cemetery
Covering two full blocks in northern Longford this complex is bordered by Archer, George, and Williams Streets and Wellington Street.
The cemetery includes many prominent local families including the Archer, Brumby and Reiby families.
One of the most interesting vaults is that of James Brumby, who died in 1838, and his family.
It is claimed that brumbies (wild horses) gained their name after this pioneer family.
James Brumby was a private in the New South Wales Corps at least as early as 1794, when he held 25 acres (10 ha) at Hunter's Hill.
This grant was later cancelled and in 1797 he was granted 100 acres (40 ha) at Mulgrave Place.
While still serving in the corps he grazed stock on this land and on government land as well.
According to family tradition he left horses that he was unable to muster or dispose of when he sailed for Van Diemen's Land.
These were known as Brumby's horses and later as 'brumbies', hence the name for wild horses - though others have suggested that the word was of much later origin.
Cressy Rd., Longford
Longford Uniting Cemetery
Marlborough St., Longford
Longford Catholic Cemetery
17 Hay St., Longford